Beloved One

I was skimming through, “Why I Love You-A Journal of Us,” that I purchased recently as a way for me to recount the love story between myself and Matt, when I came across the question, “the song that best captures my feelings for you.” Instantly I’m transported to our first apartment in Sydney, it was a summer afternoon, Matt was at work and I was lying on our crisp white bed with the widows open. I can’t remember exactly how I came across the song, but Ben Harper was on my mind and I must have gone through his song catalogue and stumbled across “Beloved One.” I wrote the name of the song in the journal Matt gave me when I first arrived in Australia. It was the song I wanted to dance to as our first song as husband and wife.

Ben Harper’s voice is raspy and sincere and the tempo of the song is slow and heartfelt. It was the first time I connected with a love song truly and deeply. The lyrics spoke to me and recounted Matt and I in our journey to finding one another. I smile every time I think of the song, or read the lyrics. In fact a while ago I purchased the vinyl record so when I finally get my record player up and running I can listen to it and let Ben’s voice take me away, to a different time and place. Yes, that place will involve lots of tears and I am sure my heart will ache but a smile will also appear because “Beloved One” is mine, it is my song for Matthew.

Its amazing what music can do for our spirit. How one song can take us down memory lane and bring to life visions that once seemed lost. My life with Matt is full of moments like this and thanks to him (he had amazing taste in music) so many beautiful memories have an amazing soundtrack to accompany them.

I have shared the lyrics below. Enjoy…

Beloved One
Ben Harper

We have both been here before
Knocking upon love’s door
Begging for someone to let us in
Knowing this we can agree
To keep each other company
Never to go down that road again

My beloved one

Your eyes shine through me
You are so divine to me
Your heart has a home in mine
We won’t have to say a word
With a touch all shall be heard
When I search my heart it’s you I find

My beloved one

You were meant for me
I believe you were sent to me
From a dream straight into my arms
Hold your body close to me
You mean the most to me
We will keep each other safe from harm

My beloved one

Leave a Reply

